Movies I should already have seen: Barbarella (with bonus drinking game)

This was the capstone of a pretty hilarious movie night.  Barbarella was namedropped in our previous viewing choice, Bio-Dome, which reminded me that 1) it existed and 2) I hadn’t already seen it, although I probably should have.  I had no idea what we were in for.  The movie is ridiculous, candy colored, unsexily sexual, and pun-laden.  The special effects are as brutal as the plot.

I also didn’t predict that I would end up with a drinking game that rivals my previous favorite drinking game in scope and efficacy.  For comparison’s sake, my previous favorite drinking game was the “Safety Dance” drinking game, in which you and your friends put “Safety Dance” on repeat and drink every time you hear the words “safety dance.”  Yes!  I invented it myself.

Anyway, the drinking game we came up with almost works as a review!  Here goes:

To play, SIP or POUND ONE:

– Every time Barbarella changes her costume.

So long, and thanks for the pelt

So long, and thanks for the pelt

– Every time Barbarella yells, “Pygar!”

An angel doesn't make love, an angel IS love.

"An angel doesn't make love, an angel IS love" - Pygar. A line so nice, he said it twice.

– When something Dildano has doesn’t work right.

Darn thing won't light up

Darn thing won't light up

– Every time somebody says the name “Durand Durand” and you think of Duran Duran.

Destroying the planet with teledildonics

Destroying the planet with teledildonics

– Every time Barbarella falls over for no reason.

WHOOPSIE!

WHOOPSIE!

– Every time we’re introduced to a new fur-covered surface.

Orange fur is a great look for a spaceship interior, yes

Orange fur is a great look for a spaceship interior, yes

REJECTED AS RULES BECAUSE YOU’D DIE OF ALCOHOL POISONING:

– Every time we’re introduced to a new use for clear plastic.

Bed, duh!

Bed, duh!

– Every instance of phallic imagery.

The subtitles read "visual metaphor" at this point in the film

The subtitles read "visual metaphor" at this point in the film

– Every time you can tell something is made of cardboard.

You're not helping me suspend my disbelief, guy

You're not helping me suspend my disbelief, guy

– Every time you figure out how they got that psychedelic imagery.

By zooming through rain drops on a windowpane!

By zooming through rain drops on a windowpane!

– PUNS.

It's a sexual organ GET IT?  GET IT???!?

It's a sexual organ GET IT? GET IT???!?

Leave a Reply

